Academy MIG Webinar: More Inclusive Nutrition: Enhancing Your Practice Through Cultural Understandin

Hosted by: Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders (AAPI), Indians in Nutrition and Dietetics (IND), Latinos and Hispanics in Dietetics and Nutrition (LAHIDAN), National Organization of Blacks in Dietetics and Nutrition (NOBIDAN), and Religion (RMIG) Member Interest Groups

Date: September 29, 2020

Time:  1:00 pm EDT/ 12:00 pm CDT/ 11:00 am MDT/ 10:00 am PDT

Panelists:

Sandra Arevalo, MPH, RDN, CDN, CDE, CLC, FADA (LAHIDAN)

Laurita M. Burley, PhD, RDN, LD (NOBIDAN)

Janice Chow, MS, RD (AAPI)

Hiba Hamadeh, MMedSci, RDN, LD (RMIG)

Vandana Sheth, RDN, CDE, FAND (IND)

 

Register (free for members and non-members)

 

Learning Objectives

  • Describe the value of understanding cultural nuance and active listening in practitioner/patient relationship and health outcomes.
  • Adjust language and communication styles within your practice to demonstrate trust-building and compassion with patients.
  • Demonstrate ways to offer recipe adjustments, food recommendations, inclusive of various cultures, and ethnicities while improving health outcomes.

 

Food is an integral part of culture. From celebrations of tradition and heritage to religious holidays, recipes can provide a bond and comfort us. They evoke emotion and connection to our families and each other. RDNs have the unique challenge of talking about food in a way that both respects tradition and cultural differences while healthily nourishing patients. 

 

Join a panel of leaders from five of the Academy’s current Member Interest Groups (MIGs). They will discuss ways to effectively listen and communicate with patients to be more inclusive of diverse ethnicities and religious cultures and their foods and traditions. Panelists will share ways to create an environment of compassion and cooperation in your practice by understanding and appreciating the role of cultural nuance. They will also share how to practice improvements, such as culturally sensitive recipe adjustments and improved communication techniques.  These techniques can lead to more empathetic and inclusive patient care. Panelists will share how you can provide insights and reflective perspectives of various cultures through appropriate adjustments to your practice and nuances and offer practice ways to be empathetic and inclusive.

 

The panel will also share ways the Academy’s MIG program can enhance your practice and understanding of diversity and inclusion through member engagement and collaboration and currently available resources.

When:  Sep 29, 2020 from 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM (ET)
Associated with  DPG26 Weight Management (WM)